jynxed's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Summer Vacation: Part 1

"Hit the Road, Jack"

So,

If you guessed that I'd come back from my trip with a huge, multi-part narrative of my adventures, mishaps, and steamy sexual forays...you'd be correct (except not about that last part). Our trip was nice, but far, far too short (aren't they always?).

We began our trip Friday evening. I got home from work around six and told myself about a bazillion times during the commute, "Don't forget your pillow, don't forget your pillow, don't forget your pillow." When I got home, Amanda was already there with her pile o' vacation necessities. I gave her a little kiss then raced into my room to stuff my duffel bag full of clothes.

I filled it with Nathanwear(tm) Apparel (ie, shorts, t-shirts, one pair of jeans and a St. Louis Blues hockey jersey (not so much that I'm in love with the Blues--I'm a Pittsburgh Penguins fan if anything--but the jersey is cool and their logo (a music note) kicks ass). Of course, a handful of clean Fruit O' The Looms and some socks went into the mix, along with an extra pair of shoes, bathroom stuff, and my paper journal (and Uno in case we were bored...yeah, fat chance). I wrapped my professional film in a plastic bag and dropped it into the ice chest, then started carrying everything out to the car.

We hit the road around six thirty, and at approximately seven, I beat my fist on the steering wheel.

"Shit!" In case you're just joining us, "shit!" while not necessarily my favorite curse, is far and away my most used. This drives Amanda crazy, because I use it even during times of comic anger and she gets worried that I'm actually mad about something important when I spit the defecatious oath.

"What's wrong?" Amanda asked, worried.

"I forgot my pillow. Dammit!"

"Oh," she said. She probably rolled her eyes, but I'm sure she wouldn't have minded at all if I decided to go back and get it...she's sweet that way. Too damn sweet.

We stopped at the north end of San Diego civilization and ate at Wendy's. I filled out a comment card, and with a tip o' the hat to Bobby, I simply wrote "Hi. How are you? Write back." We'll see if I get a response.

We drove through LA (ugh...) and stopped about fifteen minutes north of UCLA, just after we hopped off the 405 onto the 101. There weren't too many hotels around there, so we ended up staying in the Aku Aku, a polynesian themed motel a step above The Shitsville Inn. It wasn't TOO bad, but it was still $80 a night. The TV sucked--you had to watch everything (yeah everything: all this piece o' my ass got was broadcast) Letterbox and squished. Stupid. For $80 a night, I'd expect full on cable or satellite with Swank-O-Vision picture-in-picture, or at least a free breath mint. Sheesh.

So anyway, we fell asleep in the Aku Aku (which is probably Hawaiian for "Shitty TV-Shitty TV") with plans on getting up early to begin our vacation officially with our first stop in Solvang...

3:03 p.m. - August 16, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dizzy-dame
brokenglue
unclebob
andrew
chubbychic
savecraig