jynxed's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Lexdysic Afternoon

So,

During my lunch hour, I headed to a professional camera shop to buy some decent film for my trip this weekend. I learned that Kodak stopped producing their 25 and 64 speed slide film, which is pretty bizarre considering I thought their 64 speed film was insanely popular. Ah well...I'm trying some Fugi 50 speed slide film and we'll see how it comes out. It's cool--it's real professional film that's supposed to be refrigerated and what not. Cool beans. :)

Anyway, after picking up the film, I stopped at RiteAid to get some birthday cards for my cousin, my mom and my grandpa. Let's just say that at least my grandpa's will get there on time. Yikes. *sheepish grin*

I got in line behind some guy and the cute (!) cashier, a young petite darkly tanned woman (in dark rimmed glasses no less...siiiigh) rang him up.

"Twelve forty seven," she announced his total. A moment later, as he handed her his money, she checked the readout again. "Oh sorry, twelve seventy four." The guy grunted some response and she gave him his change, a little flustered.

I bet his nickname is Tons O' Fun.

At any rate, I stepped up and she swiped my three birthday cards.

"Seven forty three."

I looked at the readout. It clearly read "$7.34." I couldn't resist.

"You mean seven thirty four?" I asked, smiling wide. She looked at the readout.

"God!" she said. "Sorry. Seven thirty four."

"One of those kind of days, huh?" I asked.

"Yes, definitely."

Even through her tan, her nose started turning a bright (but beautiful, oh so beautiful) shade of pink. Her cheeks were starting to match when she handed me my change.

"Have a day nice," I smiled again. She laughed...a very VERY cute laugh. Ahhh...

I left the RiteAid with a big smile on my mug. It's nice to be able to joke with someone and have them understand it, and realize it's goodnatured humor.

One time at Blank Angus, a busboy (I'll refrain from mentioning his ethnicity--let's just say his English was fractured at best) stopped by our table.

"Finish?" he asked me.

"No, German...but I've got a little English on my mother's side."

Now, I should have known it was a hopeless joke to make to a busboy who spoke only enough English to get by...barely...but I said it anyway. Sure enough, he looked at me like I had rabid wolverines crawling out of my nose and humping my chin.

"Yeah, I'm done," I resigned. He took my plate.

So like I said, it was nice to joke with someone who understands the joke.

Anyway, I'm going on vacation for a few days. Amanda and I are driving up the coast to San Fran, so you won't hear from me until Wednesday night at the earliest. This is a good time to catch up on some of my older (and funnier) entries, fill my mailbox with an insane amount of e-mail, add me to your favorites list, tell all your friends about me, play a few days' worth of miniature golf, watch reruns of "Gilligan's Island," or just go outside and lay down in the grass for a while...I mean really, how long has it been since you've done that?

So anyway, I'll miss y'all. Send me hate mail while I'm gone. :)

4:02 p.m. - August 10, 2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

dizzy-dame
brokenglue
unclebob
andrew
chubbychic
savecraig